Aono Aoto

Kit Craft

Aono Aoto

Post by Kit Craft »

Back on the old site I had a write up of my first few natural stones but due to the reset, everything was lost. I do not have photos because, well, I am an awful photographer. If you really must have photos, I will take some but prepare yourself for the worst photos you have ever seen. Now, I am not going to review stones in the order that I got them but rather in the order of enjoyment that I get from using them, which is why I will start with the Aono.

The show stopping Aono Aoto: I call this stone the show stopper because it really blew my socks off when I used it. It is the natural stone by which all others that come through my kitchen are measured.

Tactile feedback on this stone is awesome. It is soft enough that it will tell you that you are off your angle. In fact, if the stone could speak this is what it would say. "Hey, dumb ass, you are off your angle" or "yeah, that is the way I like it". You can always feel where your edge is at as it will stick to the stone, or rather bite into it if you are not careful. The feeling is kind of chalky if you do not first use a tomo, which is a feeling that I like, but turns very creamy as the mud starts to show up. If all stones felt like this in use, I would be bankrupt.

Audible feedback on this stone is amazing as well. Think way back to when you were just a child. Can you recall using sidewalk chalk and if so, have you ever used it in the rain? Well, if you haven't, the texture changes and as a result when your write on the sidewalk the sound changes as well. Why do I bring this up, that is just how the aono sounds in use. Just like wet chalk on a sidewalk. On the other hand, if you are off it will make a scarping sound as if you were plowing dry chalk on the blackboard. As you near your stopping point that sound will be less intense or rather it will mellow out and be a lower pitch. The point is, you know what is being done and if you are on your angle or not.