Building my first knife toolkit!

We encourage you to post your questions about kitchen knives here. We can give you help choosing a knife.
LauraNM813

Building my first knife toolkit!

Post by LauraNM813 »

Good afternoon,

I'm trying to put together my final decisions for a purchase of my first "nice" knives. I've spent many, many hours the last weeks reading online, searching forums, etc. and still don't quite have all the clarity I would like, so am wondering if I could get some feedback.

I plan on getting a MAC Chef Series 8-Inch, a paring knife, a bread knife, and then a cleaver or a nakiri. I thought I had made my mind up on a CCK Small Cleaver based on what I've read, but then a chef friend of mine started trying to persuade me into a Miyabi nakiri instead.

I'm a home cook, and won't be using the knife for any kind of bone chopping or meat processing. We cook using a lot of fresh produce and herbs. Sweet potatoes, beets, kohlrabi, celery, carrots, fennel, onions, garlic, fresh herbs, apples, oranges, melons, winter squash, artichokes, avocado, tomatoes, bell peppers, pomegranate, etc. are all (seasonally) staples in our kitchen. Since I currently use a chronically dull and now badly misshapen German chef's knife almost exclusively, I don't have experience using a nakiri or a cleaver and am just not sure where to go from here. Can anyone shed any light on picking a cleaver versus a nakiri?

The other decision I'm making is on a serrated knife, between a Shun Classic Serrated Utility 6”, Tojiro DP Serrated Bread 215mm, and a Tojiro ITK Bread Knife 270mm?