New to Japanese knives

We encourage you to post your questions about kitchen knives here. We can give you help choosing a knife.
kilpikonnas

New to Japanese knives

Post by kilpikonnas »

Hello there I am new to Japanese knives and well just a lover of knives of all types. I work in a meat department and bring my own knives due how horrible their knives get (could cut better with a piece of cardboard). and I am looking for a upgrades/recommendations for atleast 2 knives. It shall be a wee bit before I get any but I like to mull over situations for awhile.

1)Pro or home cook?
home/semipro

2)What kind of knife do you want? (Gyuto, Santuko, Petty, Paring, Sujihiki, etc.)
gyuto, boning ? ? ?

3) What size knife do you want?

4)How much do you want to spend?
150 range

5) Do you prefer all stainless, stainless clad over reactive carbon, or all reactive carbon construction?
doesn't matter shall take care of

6)Do you prefer Western or Japanese handle?
no real preference; though I like the look of Japanese handles

7)What are your main knife/knives now?
Jero cimeter; cheap mercer 6in curved boning; cheap mercer nakiri and chef

8)Are your knife skills excellent, good, fair?
I'd say they are pretty good

9)What cutting techniques do you prefer? Are you a rocker, chopper or push/pull cutter?
I do whatever feels right for what I am cutting at the time

10)Do you know how to sharpen?
I do tis been awhile; and I've recently bought stones based off recommendations from my lurking these forums so hopefully I shall get back in the swing of it!