Need recommendation for my first gyuto

We encourage you to post your questions about kitchen knives here. We can give you help choosing a knife.
Hienz

Need recommendation for my first gyuto

Post by Hienz »

Hello there, im new to japanese knives, i usually cook about 4-5 times a week, cooking is more like a hobby for me. Im interested in buying my first japanese knife since i saw so many cutting demos on youtube, in the end i ended up here, looking for my very first gyuto.

1)Pro or home cook?
home

2)What kind of knife do you want? (Gyuto, Santuko, Petty, Paring, Sujihiki, etc.)
gyuto/santoku?

3) What size knife do you want?

4)How much do you want to spend?
150 - 200ish

5) Do you prefer all stainless, stainless clad over reactive carbon, or all reactive carbon construction?
stainless clad over reactive carbon

6)Do you prefer Western or Japanese handle?
japanese handle, since its my first japanese knife, i want to feel what japanese handle feels like

7)What are your main knife/knives now?
a cheap $10 knife from ACE

8)Are your knife skills excellent, good, fair?
fair

9)What cutting techniques do you prefer? Are you a rocker, chopper or push/pull cutter?
Since i usually use my dull knife, i mostly rock than chop. So im hoping i can learn more techniques with a better knife.

10)Do you know how to sharpen?
not yet, but willing to learn, ive been watching lots of videos on youtube, etc. gonna buy whetstone and strop once i got my knife.

As i said, i only cook for a few times a week, but i like it to be more enjoyable, so im looking for a knife thats comfortable in hand especially pinch grip, not so brittle or chippy, holds its edge for a long time, and not that hard to sharpen since im an amateur.
After reading lots of comments on other topics from the veterans here, it all comes down to these knives.

1. Anryu Blue #2 Hammered Gyuto 210mm https://www.chefknivestogo.com/anhagy21.html (the knife thats most recommended for a starter)