Exploring the world of gyutos

We encourage you to post your questions about kitchen knives here. We can give you help choosing a knife.
pgugger

Exploring the world of gyutos

Post by pgugger »

So, I do not need any more knives... as my wife often reminds me... but I have caught the bug. I enjoy the knives I currently have, but I have limited experience with different styles, makers, steels, etc. So, I would like to have a short list of knives to acquire in the future to help explore the different styles out there and ultimately wind up with a few favorites or complementary knives. I want to focus on handmade Japanese gyutos. Currently, have a Masakage Koishi, Kurosaki AS, and Masamoto VG (and CCK 1303 cleaver). Two I am strongly considering (regardless of whether they are in stock) are the Konosuke HD2 as an example of a "laser" and a Takeda NAS Medium Gyuto because it seems unique and iconic. I also wonder about Konosuke Fujiyama (blue or white?), Tanaka, and various others. What do you think would be two or three or four good knives to put on my list to try more styles, makers, steels, etc.?

Thanks for your thoughts!

1)Pro or home cook?
-Home

2)What kind of knife do you want? (Gyuto, Santuko, Petty, Paring, Sujihiki, etc.)
-Gyuto

3) What size knife do you want?
-240 mm, maybe 210mm

4)How much do you want to spend?
<$400 per knife, $250-350 is realistic

5) Do you prefer all stainless, stainless clad over reactive carbon, or all reactive carbon construction?
-Any

6)Do you prefer Western or Japanese handle?
-Japanese

7)What are your main knife/knives now?
-Masakage Koishi 240 mm, Kurosaki AS 210 mm, Masamoto VG, CCK 1303 cleaver

8)Are your knife skills excellent, good, fair?
-Good

9)What cutting techniques do you prefer? Are you a rocker, chopper or push/pull cutter?
-Chop, push/pull, rock in that order.

10)Do you know how to sharpen?
-Yes
delmar

Re: Exploring the world of gyutos

Post by delmar »

Really like to hear that you want to explore.