LOOKING FOR NAKIRI

We encourage you to post your questions about kitchen knives here. We can give you help choosing a knife.
gregre45

LOOKING FOR NAKIRI

Post by gregre45 »

I’M A HOME COOK
WANT TO BUY A NAKIRI
NEED YOUR ADVISE ON SIZE & BRAND OF THE KNIFE
KNIFE SKILLS - FAIR
DON’T WANT TO SHARPEN

THANK A LOT GREG
CacahuateSommelier

Re: LOOKING FOR NAKIRI

Post by CacahuateSommelier »

If you don’t want to sharpen i sugg at getting the most durable/long-lasting Steel you can..... HAP40 or ZDP189 (but ZDP can be hard to find and $$$$$$$).... that way it lasts Longer between the times you need to send it in to the sharpened......

If you don’t mind carbon steel... go Aogami Super

Or have a custom blade made from M4 or M390 but these are crazy $$$$

Sort by steel &!Take a look around the website and see what tickles your fancy
Last edited by CacahuateSommelier on Sun May 20, 2018 2:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
CacahuateSommelier

The Gihei HAP40 is OOS so that leaves just the Kohetsu with either Wa or Yo handles

https://www.chefknivestogo.com/kohana17.html
https://www.chefknivestogo.com/kohana16.html
nevrknow

Post by nevrknow »

Had my eye on that Gihei for awhile now......
CacahuateSommelier

Be sure to add on the finished sharpening service

https://www.chefknivestogo.com/inshse.html
Cutuu

Post by Cutuu »

Moritaka makes some great AS steel with excellent edge retention. I haven't tried his nakiri though. His profiles tend to be really flat. Some people really like his knives and some people really hate them. I had a santoku and a cleaver. I liked them both.
jbart65

Post by jbart65 »

You either need to learn to sharpen or have someone you can trust to sharpen your knives. An expensive Japanes knife is not much better than a Rachel Ray Chinese knockoff once it gets dull. Knives need to be sharpened at least once or twice a year depending on use. Think of how much money that will cost over time.

For the price the Gihei cannot be beat: