Pro chef egg cracking method - curious

For questions/topics that don't fit into the other, more specific forums.
PaulME

Pro chef egg cracking method - curious

Post by PaulME »

Ok see a lot of videos social media type things recommending to crack eggs on a flat surface (counter) to minimize chance of getting shells included. Any video showed an incredibly slow process using two hands to carefully break through the membrane.

My guess is this is almost never done in a pro kitchen as it’s much too slow when cracking lots of eggs, and is not a one handed method which is obviously much much faster.

I’m not a pro so I’m speculating. What do the pro’s on here do?
Paul
bruin

Re: Pro chef egg cracking method - curious

Post by bruin »

Pro that’s been in brunch hell here - one egg in each hand cracked on a flat surface is what most chefs do. Advanced technique is two eggs per hand.
STPepper9

Post by STPepper9 »

If I really need to worry about shells I will usually be pretty careful, a flat surface is good. I usually load up about 4-6 Eggs in my hands and crack them against each other over the container they're going into, then when I'm down to one I load up again. If I'm doing something that will get strained later (like a custard base), I will use a much faster method of one in each hand cracked and emptied independently of each other..
Buying quality eggs should speed things up as the shells will generally be thicker
Also, you can save time on clean up if you want by putting a little plastic wrap down on the counter where you're cracking eggs. At the end just pull up the wrap and hit your surfaces quickly with your sanitized rag.
J david

Post by J david »