Intro, new to the fam

For questions/topics that don't fit into the other, more specific forums.
Fredward

Intro, new to the fam

Post by Fredward »

Hello everyone. My name is fred. Just wanted to introduce myself. I am 33 and I work as a travel nurse. So I drive around the country with my wife to fill in at hospitals that need help, contracts are 3 months but I usually sign a second, so I move about twice a year usually. Because of that I had to leave a lot of hobbies behind at home. I’m from st louis Missouri. And my big two hobbies I had to leave were drifting/working on/building cars, and kayaking(just don’t have the room to tote a 12.5” kayak around with me). I’ve always enjoyed cooking at home and worked food service my whole life before nursing. I never knew high end Japanese knives and sharpening were so obtainable until recently I was getting pestered by many Facebook ads for Japanese style Chinese knives. I knew they weren’t quality and wanted something hand forged, with some artisanship. I loves the forged in fire series and wanted a taste. Anyway I just impulse ordered a 8” gyuto from forge to table after watching a YouTube video on cheap but good Japanese knives then went down the rabbit hole of sharpening and got some stones then i found cktg, and holy cow I wanted so many knives. So I just ordered a nashida white 1 Nakiri and will get pictures up when it comes.

Ps. Sorry that was such a long post. If you read this far then congrats
mauichef

Re: Intro, new to the fam

Post by mauichef »

Welcome to the forum Fred. Lots of laughs and general craziness. Oh and a few knife stories too. You will love it 🤪
Kalaeb

Post by Kalaeb »

Great intro, glad to have you. I think you'll find we're a pretty fun and knowledgeable group. Our demographics span everything from doctor to dishwasher
Jeff B

Post by Jeff B »

Welcome Fred and great intro. I think you will find this forum's personality and knowledge can be as addicting as the knives! ;)