Just got my first Takeda and I'm amazed - falling down the rabbit hole?

For questions/topics that don't fit into the other, more specific forums.
ckcow923

Just got my first Takeda and I'm amazed - falling down the rabbit hole?

Post by ckcow923 »

So I just got to play with my first Takeda today - a 150mm petty from the classifieds on this very forum.

I was so excited when I got home from work and the box was in the mail! Opened it up to find the tip had a big micro (oxymoron?) chip and needed to be taken to the stones. First went to work on my Shapton 400 and it took literally 10 strokes or so for me to get a really nice tip on it. Literally one minute on both my 1000 grit glass stone and 8k kitayama and I could tell this bad boy was ready for some veg. So I went raiding and started whacking up any and every soft veg I could find - onions, jalapenos, shallots, garlic, etc - this knife just breezes right through them.

I'm a professional in a very high volume kitchen in New Orleans. On a daily basis I'm cutting a julienne of 40 lb's of onions or slicing up 50 bell peppers - and that's one project out of the many rigors my knives go through on the daily. I've got the tools to do the job - Harukaze 240, Koishi 210 - these knives hold their own through the trials and tribulations of the kitchen... but they don't take near the edge that this little Takeda took right away on my stone... And held through a decent amount of product.

So my question is... Am I just in a honeymoon stage, or should I bow down to greatness and begin to understand the power of Takeda and his steel?
ChipB

Re: Just got my first Takeda and I'm amazed - falling down the rabbit hole?

Post by ChipB »

I'm just a home cook, but like you, when a knife is butter on the stones and takes a silky edge, it goes a long way in my estimation of the blade. I sharpen using an Edge Pro, so ease on the stones is a big deal for me as the jig probably takes 5x longer than hand sharpening per knife.