Show Your Home Kitchen!

For questions/topics that don't fit into the other, more specific forums.
Gary L

Show Your Home Kitchen!

Post by Gary L »

For me I think home kitchen is where you can really get comfortable and be creative. You can set it up exactly the way you want it (well maybe not all of it, if you are renting like me).

Figure I'd share mine first. One thing I like the most is the red towel hanging on the cabinet handle. I put it there specifically for wiping off my knives after use. It is close to the knife block and just makes life so much easier.

Now come and share your lovely home kitchen!

8-)
t3chi3

Re: Show Your Home Kitchen!

Post by t3chi3 »

Nice. We are undergoing our 2nd renovation (added a floor and did the house over in 2005). I'm a serious home chef and find myself in the amazing position of designing my new kitchen. The kitchen isn't in very good shape now, we went with Mahogany countertops with marine varnish and my friend hand built our cabinets and they are coming apart. Some things I've learned and will apply...

-2 dishwashers is actually a hassle, I'm going with a single one, the biggest I can find.
-cabinets don't belong in a kitchen, I'm going to fight against my wife to use shelving and hanging space as much as possible.
-drawers suck too, too many places for my cleaning person to hide stuff.
-monolithic 48" Viking is hard to work with and is failure-prone. I'm going to get a wall mounted oven and put a high temp cooktop on the island, with access from both sides.
-all counter space will be some sort of stone and I'd be able to roll out pasta or whatever at any point the kitchen.
-recessed seating tucked under the island instead of being in the way along side.
-separate column type refrigerator and freezer as well as separate ice maker (they always go bad as part of a freezer)
-one long, shallow sink.
-a larger walk-in pantry.
-a single, wide and shallow sink.

I'll take pics as it becomes a reality!
shevitz