Kohetsu just had a nice prep day with my new kohe

Proper user technique and care is essential to enjoying these high performance knives to their fullest while keeping edge damage to a minimum. Learn how here.
The sharp one

Kohetsu just had a nice prep day with my new kohe

Post by The sharp one »

Just had a nice prep day with my new kohetsu 210 and is the hap40 stainless semi stainless. I small diced like 20 onions and tomatoes and peppers just like any day , but for some reason my blade started to form a patina.. I wipped my blade down after cutting the only difference is today I didn't us a sani towel I was using a clean dry one 😣 Lucky I had some BKF at home put what is bothering me is the Lil water spot that is left on the tip . I scrubbed it with a greeny and it lighten up but I was wondering why it happened. I'm new to Japanese cutlery any advice will b appreciated. I don't like the patina look just yet so I want to keep my knife looking clean do I really have to bkf it every other day if I want to keep it this way or sure I make sure to have a sani towel next shift? I work in a high pace kitchen one of The selling points for me was that I wouldn't have to wipe it down every single time
Bensbites

Re: Kohetsu just had a nice prep day with my new kohe

Post by Bensbites »

Isn't Hap40 a semistainless steel? My understanding is that it is still reactive, just not as reactive as a "high carbon steel knife".
-btm-

Post by -btm- »

The core steel will patina some. In my experience the full stainless cladding can also patina with some Kohetsu knives. The cladding on my AS 210 has turned slightly blue-gray. Either way you won't have to baby the knife too much. Patina isn't a bad thing (as opposed to actual rust). Just use and enjoy!
appleward91

Post by appleward91 »