Preventing Rust on Carbon Knives

Proper user technique and care is essential to enjoying these high performance knives to their fullest while keeping edge damage to a minimum. Learn how here.
Jaxson

Preventing Rust on Carbon Knives

Post by Jaxson »

Hi Guys, New member with my first post. Hope it is helpful. It is obvious that rust is a problem with carbon steel. I have been storing my knives in their sayas in a metal office type file cabinet. I have put a Golden Rod heater in the bottom of the cabinet, the same type of heater used to prevent firearms from rusting. In the last year I have not oiled my knives and have had no rusting problems at all. I am a home cook so this might not apply to those who have to transport their knives to work. Ray
Kit Craft

Re: Preventing Rust on Carbon Knives

Post by Kit Craft »

That is an interesting way to go about it. I just store mine in their boxes in that rust free paper and have never had any issues. Then again, I use all of my knives in rotation so none of them sit for long periods of time. It is not uber humid here either.
mauichef

Post by mauichef »

I live by the ocean and have had constant issues with rusting on most of my carbon knives. Some would go after mere days, however clean and dry I keep them. Even coated with oil.
THEN.....
I discovered VCI paper.
No more oil. No more constant attention. No more rust. AMAZING!!!!!
timos

Post by timos »

I have to get some of that paper on my next order!!
Tim Johnson
Oxford, MA

“In the beginner’s mind there are many possibilities, but in the expert’s there are few”
--s. suzuki
Web: http://www.timothyjohnsonknives.com
Email: tim@blackstoneknife.com
Instagram: @timostheos
-btm-

Post by -btm- »

The VCI paper is pretty nice. I use it to line standard Dexter knife guards for storing my carbon knives. Works great.