Need to strop

If you have questions about sharpening products, steels or techniques post them here.
havugla

Need to strop

Post by havugla »

I am not able to get ny knives hair shaving sharp with only stones. Have to use my leather strop with some cheap China compound in order to do achieve paper slicing sharp. Using a 500,1000 and 4000 Sharpton glass. What are I doing wrong?
gladius

Re: Need to strop

Post by gladius »

Probably nothing. How do your knives cut food after sharpening?
ken123

Post by ken123 »

Are you trying to slice paper or shave hairs?

My bias - get a better strop and throw away the cheap compound. It is cheap for a reason.

You need practice. and more practice. You should get paper slicing cuts at 500 grit.

---
Ken
bruin

Post by bruin »

I’ll echo Ken in saying it’s just a matter of “getting good”. It take a long time and a lot of practice. I’ve been sharpening with whetstones for about 3 years and I’d say just in the last 6 months or so have I been truly satisfied with my results. And I know I have a long way to go still. Even most very skilled, very practiced, even professional sharpeners would tell you they do have o. Do more reading, watch more videos, put more hours in on your stones. If you can’t cut paper off your 500, keep trying before you move up to 1000.

What efforts are you making to deburr before you try to cut paper? If you have a large burr on your edge from your 500 grit that’s definitely contributing to any trouble you have testing on paper and hair. I do edge trailing strokes with very light pressure on both sides of the edge and lightly pull my knife through a cork (CKTG also sells a very cheap felt block for this) after I’m done on each grit and it gets the job done.
nakneker

Post by nakneker »