Rika 5000 problem

If you have questions about sharpening products, steels or techniques post them here.
Andrixxx942

Rika 5000 problem

Post by Andrixxx942 »

Hello, I wanted some information from you. I’m new in the world of sharpening stones, I’ve been learning for more than a month. Today I sharpened my knife and I noticed passing to 5000 rika suehiro that after a while of pasting I have as lost the razor edge of the knife, is this possible or did I wrong something? thanks for the answers
Cigarguy

Re: Rika 5000 problem

Post by Cigarguy »

Could be a lot of problems. All involving your skill which comes with experience. Nothing to do with the stone.

When I first got into sharpening I was very good at getting a mirror DULL edge. The problem was my technique. Inconsistent angle and thinking that moving up to higher grit stones equal sharper edges. Once I got the hang of it and developed some muscle memory it lead to consistent angles. Before I was not achieving a true apex and thinking that a wire burr equal sharpness which I then proceeded to polish.

Now all my sharpening happens on a 800 to 1200 grit stone. This is my most important grit range. On a really dull knife I'd dropped down to a 200 or 400 grit stone to set the bevel. Then 1000 grit for 90% of final sharpness. After that 3000+ grit for the final polishing and pop. Unless your technique is really bad you're not going to make the edge duller with a polishing stone or leather strop.

Keep practicing and practicing. Soon you'll hit that "a-ha" moment, then you'll be amaze how much sharper you can get an edge on even a 200 grit stone. Sharpening can be frustrating at first until you get to that moment. Then it becomes so easy even as your skills improve.
JayBee

Post by JayBee »