Newbie Advice

If you have questions about sharpening products, steels or techniques post them here.
Naples09

Newbie Advice

Post by Naples09 »

Hello all -

New member and new to quality knives. This might be a long post so please be patient with me. I have zero knowledge about J knives or sharpening but read the forum for hours before my first purchase on black friday - which allowed me to take advantage of the sale!

Our old knives are JA Henkels - Forged Synergy Stainless Steel - which was a block set we purchased around 2007. They have never been sharpened over the 10 years and are very very dull.

On BF I ordered the following:

MAC Superior 4" paring
https://www.chefknivestogo.com/macsu4insapa.html

Kohetsu SLD Santoku 170mm
https://www.chefknivestogo.com/kohetsu1.html

So far my wife and I love the new knives as they are razor sharp after having them finished before shipping by CKTG. They were finished at 15 degrees by Alton with SG 500, SG 2K, Original Snow White 8K and Horse Strop with 0.5 Micron Paste per the card sent with the knives

So that's my history - now on to my future and questions:

What stones should I buy in order to maintain the edge on the 2 CKTG knives going forward? Also, I would like to try to sharpen the old Henkels - as practice before touching the Kohetsu - therefore, what additional stones would I need to get a decent edge on the Henkels?

As I'm completely new to this - I would be open to all and any suggestions. However, I would prefer splash and go stones, as they seem easier to use for a beginner. As I've been watching a lot of the sharpening videos linked on this forum.

Thank you for taking the time to read my post and look forward to any comments. Please ask any additional questions that might be useful.

Regards,

Jim
Kit Craft

Re: Newbie Advice

Post by Kit Craft »

So many ways to go here. You do not need an all in set like Alton used but there is no reason you can't get one either.