Home Cooks - Knife Maintenance Between Sharpenings?

If you have questions about sharpening products, steels or techniques post them here.
Eversor13

Home Cooks - Knife Maintenance Between Sharpenings?

Post by Eversor13 »

Hello all,

As a home cook, I'm wondering what the best way is to maintain the sharpness of a knife between sharpening sessions, how do some of you do it? Would a nanocloth strop loaded with CBN spray do the trick, if so, what micron level? I'm sure there are some out there who keep a knife sharp with stones only, if that's the case, what stone do you traditionally start on and finish on?

Also, do you all just have a "stone drawer" or "strop drawer" at home in the kitchen you raid before preparing a meal?

Thank you
Kit Craft

Re: Home Cooks - Knife Maintenance Between Sharpenings?

Post by Kit Craft »

I am a nut...I use bamboo shoe racks to house my stones. That aside, I am particular about my edges so I touch up much more than I need to. Stropping on a simple stack of slack newsprint with white number two I could probably get by for 6-8 weeks if I were less particular about my edge. Twice that or more on crox loaded felt or balsa. But since I AM particular about my edge I dry strop on a Kitayama 8k as needed. That changes throughout the season as I don't need the same level of maintenance for butchery as I do for canning/drying/freezing fresh veg. However, I would say a handful of strokes per side about every 9-12 meal preps. So that is about ever 3-5 days. I can get by on just the 8k for a few months before needing to drop back to a 2-4k though. I could get by without a 1k for probably a year or more.

Now, that is all on a well maintained and very thin at the edge white 2 blade. Soft 1075 (52-54 hrc) hits a 2k every time I use it.
dafox

Post by dafox »