Diamond Flattening Stones vs Silicon Carbide Stones

If you have questions about sharpening products, steels or techniques post them here.
Karen O

Diamond Flattening Stones vs Silicon Carbide Stones

Post by Karen O »

I am new to the world of Japanese knives and upon my decision to purchase a few basic knives, I decided that I would do my own sharpening. My sharpening stone set consists of the 400, 800, and 3000 Naniwa Professional (Chosera) stones. My question concerns a flattening stone. What are your thoughts on a diamond flattening stone versus a silicon carbide (carborundum) flattening stone? The DMT extra coarse stone at 120 and the Atoma Plate at 140 appear to be popular. Could grits this coarse damage the 3000 grit Naniwa?
jacko9

Re: Diamond Flattening Stones vs Silicon Carbide Stones

Post by jacko9 »

I have the Atoma 140 plate and it will not damage your 3000 grit stone. It will leave a rougher finish on the stone that will smith out with use but, in limited experience (40 years) it will be just fine. If your concerned about the course marks left with the Atoma 140 you might want to consider the Atoma 400. I have two Atoma plates and one DMT which has worn out rather too fast in my opinion. I bought a carborundum sharpening stone but never used it since the Atoma works so well. I have stones ranging from 150 to 8000 grit in many manufactures as well as natural stones and they all flatten very well with the Atoma (and I think the 400 will suit you well).

Jack O
Gregory27

Post by Gregory27 »

Honestly, if you're just looking for flattening, consider the CKTG 140 plate:

https://www.chefknivestogo.com/140grdistflp.html

Great value. Also works great for repair work on knives, something that those silicone carbide flatteners can't do. And no, a coarse diamond plate won't wreck your stones. Like Jacko said, they'll just leave a slightly more aggressive surface which will even out with a bit of use of the stone.
salemj

Post by salemj »