Maintaining/sharpening Kohetsu HAP40

If you have questions about sharpening products, steels or techniques post them here.
metamorpheus

Maintaining/sharpening Kohetsu HAP40

Post by metamorpheus »

I'm still pretty new to sharpening and have mainly practiced 50/50 bevels on cheaper western blades like Mercer and the Cozzini knives my work uses. On Monday I got the Kohetsu HAP40 210mm gyuto and need some advice about sharpening/maintaining it. I do cook for a living, but the hospitals mgmt won't let us bring our own knives, so this is for home use.

I currently have a Norton combo bench stone (oil), a Mercer 1000/3000 grit combo water stone, and a 5000 grit Naniwa super stone. I have done some reading on the subject and see that Shapton Glass or the Kohetsu 800 & 2000 grit stones are recommend to cleanly remove the carbide. I do plan to get the Kohetsu stones in a month or so.

My questions are:
1.Would it be advisable to use the 5000 grit stone once a week or so to maintain my blade in place of using a steel?
2.Will the knife perform well with this level of polish or would a rougher toothy edge be better?
3.How would you recommend sharpening the uneven bevel?
4.What is the advantage of having an uneven bevel vs doing 10-12 dps with a 15dps micro?
5.If my initial 5000 grit touch ups create a secondary bevel rather than refine the primary, will this make a full sharpening more difficult later? If so what approach needs to be taken to reset a bevel that has a secondary?
Radar53

Re: Maintaining/sharpening Kohetsu HAP40

Post by Radar53 »

Hi there metamorpheus & welcome to the forum. Interesting questions. I have the Kohetsu HAP40 210 gyuto as well and mine came pretty sharp out of the box and like you as a home user, I don't think that I first sharpened it for close on a year.

1) Please don't use a steel on this knife and at first I would simply strop it on your 5k Naniwa SS. It should hold it's edge for ages