The edge is good, but not great. Please help.

If you have questions about sharpening products, steels or techniques post them here.
DeLos

The edge is good, but not great. Please help.

Post by DeLos »

I am just getting into sharpening and have two Cerax stones, 320 & 1000. I live in a communal house (I'm a member of a religious community) and the house knives were of good quality (forged Wusthof and Zwilling) but completely dull. I set a new bevel with the 320, then a couple of passes on the 1000, and finished with a strop with green honing compound. The knives (three 8 inch chef's knives) have gone from completely dull to easily slicing onions. I can go through copy paper pretty easily too. But they are still not super-sharp. Very usable but not as sharp as I was hoping. I realize my technique needs work, I'm new. But would a 3000 or 5000 give a better edge, or will they merely polish the edge? Thanks for the advice.
Gregory27

Re: The edge is good, but not great. Please help.

Post by Gregory27 »

Keep working on your 1000 stone. A higher grit stone won't get an imperfect edge sharper, it'll just be a shinier imperfect edge. Keep working on maintaining a consistent angle, slowly reducing pressure. You should see better and better results over time. Once that improvement slows, then its time for a higher grit stone.

One other thing to consider is that with your knives, they really shouldn't be as screaming sharp as a good Japanese knife. Those softer steel knives just won't hold that steep of a bevel. Also, you really don't need a terribly much higher grit stone with those knives. Lots of people, myself included, stop at a 2k stone for "Western" knives, and maintain with a steel.
jmcnelly85

Post by jmcnelly85 »