Sous vide pork loin

Share your culinary creations, recipes, food knowledge, restaurant recommendations, etc.
slobound

Sous vide pork loin

Post by slobound »

I'm just a novice at home cook but I recently bought an Anova sous vide. I've used it a few times now and really liked the pork loin I seared off in the big green egg.

Anyone else using a sous vide around here?

-- Garrick
Bensbites

Re: Sous vide pork loin

Post by Bensbites »

Yes, and I like to finish it off on my kamado joe...

I think SV shines on lean protein. I still prefer low and slow on the Kamado when I want to tenderize and form bark.
slobound

Post by slobound »

Bensbites wrote: Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:20 pm Yes, and I like to finish it off on my kamado joe...

I think SV shines on lean protein. I still prefer low and slow on the Kamado when I want to tenderize and form bark.
Nice, you have a KJ. I think I really want to pick up a Joe Jr at some point.

Completely agreed, there's no way the SV would take the place of low & slow on a brisket or pork butt.
-- Garrick
mauichef

Post by mauichef »

I use a Sous vide several times a week. Agree on the brisket. The Anova is Fantastic. The porchetta we had for Christmas was the best I have ever eaten.
Love my sous vide for venison, steaks and pork chops too.
slobound

Post by slobound »

mauichef wrote: Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:56 pm I use a Sous vide several times a week. Agree on the brisket. The Anova is Fantastic. The porchetta we had for Christmas was the best I have ever eaten.
Oh... now that's a great idea. It didn't even cross my mind to do porchetta with the SV. Thanks for the great idea!
-- Garrick
Bensbites

Post by Bensbites »

slobound wrote: Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:33 pm
Bensbites wrote: Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:20 pm Yes, and I like to finish it off on my kamado joe...

Completely agreed, there's no way the SV would take the place of low & slow on a brisket or pork butt.