Scalloped potato recipe needed...

Share your culinary creations, recipes, food knowledge, restaurant recommendations, etc.
Jason H

Scalloped potato recipe needed...

Post by Jason H »

Anyone have a recipe worthy of Christmas Day? I’m going to a large gathering and was tasked with bringing this dish, it needs to be spectacular and I’ve never made it before. Oh my... As for skill level, I’m not a pro but better than the average household cook. Thanks!
jacko9

Re: Scalloped potato recipe needed...

Post by jacko9 »

Here's one from Julia Child's that I used last year and will use again this year.

http://www.recipetineats.com/julia-chil ... tato-bake/

I did use gruyere cheese and did add fresh thyme leaves from my herb garden.

jack
Jason H

Post by Jason H »

Well thanks! As I search around, I can see that gruyere is popular in the gourmet versions.
Lepus

Post by Lepus »

I would suggest using a thin cheese sauce rather than straight cream as your liquid in that recipe. Start with flour and butter. Cook until combined, smooth, and taking on a hint of color to make a blonde roux. Add cream and simmer to thicken, then remove the sauce from heat and add a little cheese. You don't want it as thick as a normal cheese sauce, just a little thicker than neat cream. Potato moisture can vary a lot depending on the type and even batch. If you rely on just the starch in the potato without having made the recipe a few times to get a feel for your moisture, you can end up with a soupy dish.
jacko9

Post by jacko9 »

I used Russet potato's and the tip from Lepus about making a cheese sauce sounds like the way to go. While the person that added the link I referred to suggested using a slicer for the potato's I used my HD2 240mm Gyuto because I just don't get to cook enough.
Carter

Post by Carter »

+1 just made Julia's recipe a few weeks ago...it's the standard. For Christmas Eve, doing the same basic recipe but with creamed onions...then baked potato and prime rib.
jacko9