WA handle life expectancy

For questions/topics that don't fit into the other, more specific forums.
Sid85

WA handle life expectancy

Post by Sid85 »

New to Japanese knives. I would like to try blade with a Wa handle as I think I would not like the balance point with the thinner blades as far back as they tend with the Yo handles/full tang etc. My question is: given proper care how many years could one expect to get out of light to medium home kitchen use before having to install a new handle? I just bought my first CKTG knife with a hybrid handle and cant wait to use it.
Kalaeb

Re: WA handle life expectancy

Post by Kalaeb »

Good question. I have been going on 15 years on some of mine and fully expect at least that many more.
billk1002

Post by billk1002 »

Excellent question as I just discover this site 4 years ago. Being an amateur woodworker I am under the impression that as long as I take care of the handles and rub them down with bees wax and keep the tang to handle connection sealed and store the knives in a temperature and humidity friendly environment that here is no reason that the handles should not last for decades?
But I guess only time will tell.
Home cook, addicted to knives, stones, food and new recipes.
Bill
polytope

Post by polytope »

About 3 years, give or take :D

(PS: This is a joke. Don't be frightened off by this picture. These handles were sanded every day, which isn't something you would do at home)

taz575

Post by taz575 »

Even the softer/cheaper Wa handles will last a very long time in home use. They are designed to be replaced fairly easily by the end user. With stabilized wood and good materials, handles do not get much wear, so they should pretty much last as long as the blade does!
STPepper9

Post by STPepper9 »

I have a coworker whos knife handle looks like the middle one in the Morimoto pictures. He probably uses it every day at work for 10+ years.