Knife Recommendation: Flat Profile Gyuto

We encourage you to post your questions about kitchen knives here. We can give you help choosing a knife.
Hilas

Knife Recommendation: Flat Profile Gyuto

Post by Hilas »

Hey CKTG forum, first post for me here!

I’m a professional prep and line cook, looking for a gyuto or kiritsuke for my fresh knife roll (rebuilding my kit after taking a break from foodservice and returning a couple months ago).

As the title says I’m looking for something quite flat and 240mm within the current stock/offerings (many of the suitable knives recommend in other posts are OOS).

I’ll list a few knives that have caught my eye; rest of the details in the q’s below. Thanks y’all!

- Masakage Koishi Gyuto 210mm https://www.chefknivestogo.com/makogy21.html (Looks like a perfect shape, but a bit short)
- Kohetsu AS Togatta Gyuto 240mm https://www.chefknivestogo.com/koastogy24.html (more of a rocker)
- Tabata Homono Blue #2 Togatta 240mm https://www.chefknivestogo.com/tabl2togy24o.html
(Looks great but not sure if Tabata is a good brand)

————

1)Pro or home cook?
Pro

2)What kind of knife do you want?
Gyuto or a Kiritsuke/K-tip (I tip draw quite often)

3) What size knife do you want?
240mm

4)How much do you want to spend?
Less than $300, ideally around $250

5) Do you prefer all stainless, stainless clad over reactive carbon, or all reactive carbon construction?
Stainless over carbon

6)Do you prefer Western or Japanese handle?
Japanese Wa Handle

7)What are your main knife/knives now?
Misuzu SKS93 Bunka 160mm (https://www.chefknivestogo.com/miskbu16cu.html), LOVE this knife and use it for pretty much all my prep except for birds which I use a cheap honesuki for

8)Are your knife skills excellent, good, fair?
Pretty good, definitely very strong with all veg

9)What cutting techniques do you prefer? Are you a rocker, chopper or push/pull cutter?
Push/Pull and tip draws 100% of the time unless it’s demanded of me

10)Do you know how to sharpen?