Gyuto Finalists

For questions/topics that don't fit into the other, more specific forums.

Pick your top 3!

Masakage Koishi (AS) 3.8mm
17%
Gihei Blue #2 3.7mm, "2.1mm after first inch"
10%
Anryu AS 3.5mm
8%
Kanehiro AS 3.2mm
8%
Kurosaki Megumi (VG-10) 3.1mm
2%
Kanehiro Ginsan (ginsan)3mm
4%
Tanaka blue 2 (Aogami 2)2.9mm
23%
Kohetsu Hap40 wa gyuto 2.8mm
8%
Anryu blue #2 hammered gyuto 2.6mm
19%

Total votes: 48

Higuma

Gyuto Finalists

Post by Higuma »

Greetings,
I am a home cook who only does veg. prep(onions, carrots, squash, garlic, leafy greens, and herbs):
I have narrowed my search through all the research I've done and pulled out the following 240mm Gyutos that fit my criteria. I would like help narrowing these down further, they're all either Blue#2/ AS with stainless clad but a few are Hap40, VG-10, and Ginsan. The heights are 50 on avg. And the spine at back have varying widths from thicc to thin(will vary in reality)

-Durability(no micro-chips) and sharp blade retention are my number one priority.
-a laser that has workhorse durability, doesnt have to be the thinnest laser

If you have any of these knives, your opinions are valued higher.

-Masakage Koishi (AS) 3.8mm
-Gihei Blue #2 3.7mm, "2.1mm after first inch"
-Anryu AS 3.5mm
-Kanehiro AS 3.2mm
-Kurosaki Megumi (VG-10) 3.1mm
-Kanehiro Ginsan (ginsan)3mm
-Tanaka blue 2 (Aogami 2)2.9mm
-Kohetsu Hap40 wa gyuto 2.8mm
-Anryu blue #2 hammered gyuto 2.6mm
Bensbites

Re: Gyuto Finalists

Post by Bensbites »

You have done your research, and that is awesome.

You are crowdsourcing our favorite blades as opposed to the one that will work the best for you.

How do you cut? Rocker, chopper, push cut, tip draw,

Do you want a flat spot? High tip? Low tip?

Where do you stand on food release vs laser cutting vs wedging at the shoulders?
Higuma

Post by Higuma »

Bensbites wrote: Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:57 am You have done your research, and that is awesome.