Need Help Deciding on an Artisan Knife

We encourage you to post your questions about kitchen knives here. We can give you help choosing a knife.
camfuego

Need Help Deciding on an Artisan Knife

Post by camfuego »

1) I am semi-pro. I'm just starting out in the culinary industry

2)I'm looking for a gyuto

3) preferably 240mm

4)The max amount I would like to spend is $250

5) I prefer stainless AND/OR stainless clad over carbon

6)I prefer Japanese handle

7) I currently own an 8 in Tojiro DP Kiritsuke and 8 in Miyabi Evolution Chef's Knife

8) My knife skills are good

9)I'm a chopper AND push and pull cutter

10) I'm very new to sharpening

I've been doing my research for a couple days now and the top 3 knives of my choice that I would like are:
- Makoto Sakura SG2 240mm Gyuto
- Anryu KU Damascus Gyuto 240mm
- Makoto White #2 Gyuto 240mm
...These knives stand out to me the most for their beauty and also their performances in the kitchen as listed in the many reviews for each of those knives that I've read. I'm only 20, but I've solidified my choice in this culinary profession, and I want to obtain the tools that will help me get my name out there. I'm new to the scene as I don't own a carbon steel blade, but I tend to ALWAYS wipe my knives down after use on habit, even though the knives I own right now are stainless steel. I'm not buying any more knives at the moment, but I look forward to considering your recommendations in the near future as I get myself more involved in the culinary industry. If you're reading this...

Mahalo from Hawaii!!!

- Cameron
taz575

Re: Need Help Deciding on an Artisan Knife

Post by taz575 »

Makoto Sakura SG2 would get my vote! SG2 will take and hold a nice edge and his grinds are wonderful! The Richmond AS Laser series was done by Makoto and remains one of my favorite series, followed by the Tanaka Sekiso series.
Radar53

Post by Radar53 »

Hi there Cam ~ a couple more for you to consider, both with good family heritage.